top of page

BAIN “What Am I Holding On For?”

Mixtape review by Jonas



“You think I like to play games common misconception/I mean used to play games but I learned my lesson/I mean I’m putting in the work to get my life in order/Te necesito a mi lado cada hora”


From the first full track from BAIN’s mixtape, he makes it clear what this is really all about. Making peace with yourself, becoming a better person, and love.

BAIN clearly comes from a wide range of influences. Some of which are even named in tracks like DONDA and REMINISCE (naming Tyler the Creator’s Orlando stop for the Flower Boy tour).

BAIN has this great flow that feels so natural, even when switching styles, it never feels forced.


“Went to St. Pete to see the art you my muse. You belong on these walls and my heart belong to you. Now we on the beach found a vegan spot that’s cool. tell you order what you like as usual you end up eating my food.

Orlando Tyler concert we was moshing in the pit. You could barely breathe you 5’5 like to claim you 5’6. You lift me up so on my shoulders where you sit. I’m your flower boy you my soil you the shit.”


On SIGNS ft. Kurisu, BAIN and Kurisu deliver one of my favorite hooks on the whole mixtape. Again another track about love/lust crossing roads with becoming a better person.


Near the end, DONDA brings this tape to a new direction, taking on political topics of the effects of capitalism, violence, and connections to family. When the elites are pointing us towards our self destruction, it’s the right time to ground ourselves. BAIN does that by looking to his family for guidance.


BAIN has given us a thoughtful mixtape with clever and honesty really sweet lines. I really look forward to hearing more from him.


"What Am I Holding On For?" was released in 2024.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page